12/13/2010

item 1 >>> Redirected from Stolf’s Blog…the half-ass. The Genus Equus consists of 7 species: Horses, wild & domestic (1)…Asiatic Wild Asses (2)…African Wild Asses (1)…Zebras (3). Yes, miniature horses, ponies, Arabians, Quarter Horses, Morgans, Thoroughbreds, giant draft horses like Clydesdales and Belgians, wild horses like Przewalski’s Horse and the extinct Tarpan, all are considered the same species. Asiatic Wilds Asses include several sub-species, with different names based on where they occur: Kulan, Khur, Onager, Dziggetai, and others. The Kiang was once included, but is now considered a separate species. But the first group of Asiatics is called Equus Hemionus, meaning half (hemi) and ass (onus). They are more horse-like than African Wild Asses (“True Asses”), altho not nearly as much as Mules. Half Asses are generally untamable, like Zebras, but unlike African Wild Asses, from which domesticated Donkeys and Burros were consequently developed.

item 2 > I got something of a shock the other day. I write a monthly column for an Upper Upstate NY entertainment newspaper, and it’s a lot of work, altho I enjoy it…well, as someone (Dorothy Parker?) once said: “I hate writing, I love having written.” I aim at 1000-1200 words per article. I recently used a word-count program (free if you need one, called NanoCount) and discovered that between my 2 daily blogs, I am writing 1500-2000 words…a day. Granted, my Baby Boomer column “Stolf’s Oldies” for Fourth Coast Entertainment is written and edited more carefully than a blog…and the facts quadruple-checked instead of double-checked, but still…So I am once again thinking about cutting back on this one (average 1300 vs 400 words for the other one.) Like maybe 5 items instead of 10, but still with pictures…you’ll notice, I’m inserting more these days.

item 3 >>> Bottom line: I truly believe I can make Deep-Fried Hoodsie Cups better by making it shorter. Well, better in the sense of more convenient for people who just don’t have the time, altho if you do have the time, I could probably write 20 items, there are that many things to write about. Will I cut back? I want to know what you think…leave a comment, yea or nay. Your thoughts will be taken to heart, I assure you. At the same time, I’m leaning towards not cutting back, because I consider these blogs a “job.” Crazy as that sounds, given I’m making $0.00 an hour. Yup, just typing away, waiting for the butterfly-net to fall…

item 4 >>> BTW, when a new edition of FCE comes out around the first of the month, I post my previous month’s column at  http://travelingcyst.blogspot.com. I have also posted some older ones there too, and will probably put a few more, like the JFK assassination one, altho it’s geared to folks up here. Trouble is, the older ones (dating to Summer 2007) weren’t “saved.” Or at least I can’t find them, altho now that I think about it, there’s supposed to be a data CD somewhere around here with old stuff…as my Grandma used to say: We shall see what we shall see.

item 5 >>> But I also got an extraordinarily pleasant surprise Saturday when I was grocery shopping…which I like to do, altho some think guys aren’t supposed to, while another school of thought says nobody is supposed to. DIET MOXIE! I bought both cartons they had on the shelf, would have bought all that was there. I had been buying regular Moxie from a different store, but it was just too sweet…like a Moxie lollipop, and I lost my sweet tooth long ago…in fact, it’s on display at the Tooth Fairy Museum, which is in Dothan, Alabama, I believe.

item 6 >>> Let’s play the “Times Ten” game…take prices for things from some point back in the day, multiply by ten, and see if you get today’s prices. These were quoted in Hemmings Classic Car‘s January 2011 issue as averages from 1959, and I put in the “times ten” in bold: new home $12,400/$120,400…annual income $5,000/$50,000…gas/gallon 25¢/$2.50…new car $2,200/$22,000…bread loaf 20¢/$2.00…movie camera $67.50/$675.00…movie ticket $1/$10. Interesting, no? Two items that are fantastic bargains today compared to 50 years ago are TVs and bicycles. And of course computers…your home computer today is hundreds of times more powerful than a computer costing $5 million dollars in 1960.

item 7 >>> This magazine article also said Bonanza was in 1959 the “the first weekly television series broadcast completely in color.” Well, no, it wasn’t…unless I’m getting tripped up on “completely”…I’m straining my brain to come up with a series broadcasted “partially in color.” Do they mean perhaps the commercials too, like they flat refused to run any during Bonanza that weren’t in color? In any event, color “firsts” prior to Bonanza include: First color series: The Cisco Kid, syndicated 1950. First network color series: NBC, Summer, 1954, The Marriage, a live 7-episode sitcom staring Hume Cronyn & Jessica Tandy. First network color series on film: NBC, Fall, 1954, Ford Theatre, had been in black-and-white since 1952. First daily color series: NBC, 1955, Howdy Doody, 5 days a week, had been black-and-white since 1947. First color cartoon series: NBC, Dec. 1957, The Ruff and Reddy Show, Saturday mornings.

item 8 >>> Found a couple of cool pictures of the old North Shore Shopping Center…and check back tomorrow for a “big” Christmas surprise…

item 9 >>> I’m sorry but I just don’t remember, even in that historic 16-0 year, the Pats ever being this dominant. And all it took was to jettison Mr. Moss…altho the return of Mr. Branch didn’t hurt. Sure, Michael Vick will get the Comeback of the Year award, and deservedly so…but there’s gotta be some kind of trophy for Danny Woodhead…like the Danny Who? Cup…

item 10 >>> We all appreciate that different parts of the country have different names for things….bureau vs. dresser…rubber bands vs. elastics…bags vs. sacks…basement vs. cellar…trash cans vs trash barrels…and the myriad names for submarine sandwiches. The one I’m a little puzzled about is tap vs. faucet…because some places, what comes out of a tap is tap water…other places, what comes out of a faucet is tap water. Anything not in the kitchen or bathroom is a spigot. But which is it in New England? I want to say faucet, but despite growing up on the North Shore, I came from a mixed family…Mother from Salem MA, Dad from Northeast Ohio. And I thought New England tends to go the way of Old England with many words, and they say “tap.” (Altho growing up, I’m pretty sure we got “faucet water” out of a faucet, which is why I’m confused…)

Wicked Ballsy


Couldn’t find a price for this ultra-cool flip-up model from 1960, but to give you an example…an RCA 21-inch color tabletop (what they called one that wasn’t a console, or piece of furniture) was $495. Times ten $4,950. A 22-inch Toshiba wide-screen hi-def LCD with build-in DVD player today, $288.

lo, ’tis the season when tidings of shameless plugs are nigh…

Podcasts at http://stolfpod.podbean.com and   http://thewholething.podbean.com

Daily blogs at http://stolf.wordpress.com and  https://deepfriedhoodsiecups.wordpress.com

More bloggage at http://travelingcyst.blogspot.com and  http://www.examiner.com/retro-pop-culture-in-watertown/mark-john-astolfi

Resume and audio samples at http://home.rr.com/mastolfi

This entry was posted in \baby boomers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

