DFHC 4/26/2011

item 1 >>> Now Playing  Victoria by Kinks   One of those shoulda-been-a-monster-hits from 1969…as it was, only made it as high as #61.

item 2 >>> LQQK @ †h∆†!  Adam Adamant  Ever wonder where Adam Ant got his name? Well, first they were called Adam and the Ants, but the original inspiration was from a British TV show that ran just one season in 1966 called Adam Adamant Lives!…about a guy from 1867 thawed out to be a secret agent today…well, ya hadda be there…Theme sung by Kathy Kirby.

item 3 >>>  Good Man…Growing up on the North Shore, I don’t recall many individuals as admired…or as inspiring…as Richard Cardinal Cushing. His connection to the Kennedy Assassination is especially poignant. And below is one of the coolest “old pictures” I’ve seen in a long time…yup, that’s Dick “the Monster” Radatz…

item 4  >>> A Face Like a Cake Left Out in the Rain…What got me to thinking about him was yesterday’s stuff on acromagely…that’s just how my mind riffs sometimes. You recall yesterday I mentioned Uncle Wiki’s “revelation” that Abe Lincoln had the disease…and I posted his picture, a rare beardless pose, next to actual cases. In case you missed the implication, I think he was was an odd-looking dude, nothing more. Like I said, today every difference is a disease. What about Jay Leno? And in the mind of kid, Cardinal Cushing was always intertwined with Capt. Hook, of all people, hence my drawing below…

item 5  >>> Rogue’s GalleryIn fact, there was a period when I was drawing all sorts of little cartoons of famous people…tell me that isn’t Dracula with a tie-clip…


item 6  >>> Then, inevitably, it came to passthat I got a little older…but don’t we all…

item 7  >>> But Speaking of the Real Deal… 2 more include boxer-turned-wrestled Primo Carnera (left, and top center)…and actor Richard Kiel…

item8  >>> My Uncle Gene? I though he was your Uncle Gene!…And holy cow, look who else was on Match Game…they sure puled out all the stops, back then


item 9 >>>  Monkeephilia…I’m a lifelong fan of the Monkees…much to the dismay of my cohorts back in the day….altho I think over the years, some have come over to my way of thinking…or hearing. Masterpieces of pure pop-rock, and the more I read about these guys, the cooler they sound…Mickey Dolenz bought one of the first Moog Synthesisers on the market…and for a brief period on tour, Jimi Henxryz was their opening act…justbecause the guys wanted to hang out back stage and dig him. But their Monkeemobile, that was another kettle of transmission fluid…what a waste of a perfectly good GTO. That ungangly* canvas roof attempts to ape the 1920s touring car look, with disastrous results, IMHO…

*Yes, I know…no such word as “ungangly”…it’s “ungainly”…but I’m Old School…talk to my mouthpiece**…

** That’s “lawyer” to you sprats in the audience…

item 10  >>> And Not 4 Nothing… But it seemed they only showed 3/4 views of this lopsided George Barris kreation. These front and back pics give you some idea why. I believe that “backpack” on the rear end is a packed-up parachute for drag-racing…with those aerodynamics?…puh-lease…doesn’t it have to be at least semi-real? Um, nope…and God Bless…

Wicked Ballsy 

You can kind of see what Eddie and Dick might have been fighting over, don’t you think?


shameless plugs, chopped and channeled and lowered and louvred…

Podcasts at http://stolfpod.podbean.com  and   http://thewholething.podbean.com

Other Daily blog at http://stolf.wordpress.com  (the legendary Stolf’s Blog)

More bloggage at  http://travelingcyst.blogspot.com  and  http://www.examiner.com/retro-pop-culture-in-watertown/mark-john-astolfi

Resume at http://travelingcyst.blogspot.com/p/resume.html

Audio samples coming soon…or just check the podcasts…twc-rr so still über-blows turbo…


This entry was posted in \baby boomers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

