G4BB 30: Coming Attractions

Coming Attractions

30.1  Last week I promised you “Scapulars & Spatulas”…this week, I fear I must disappoint you. Don’t worry…it’s definitely a coming attraction, probably split into 2 different chapters. Here’s the scoop…

30.2  It started when I realized I’d made a boo-boo. Back in 21.5, I said 2nd cousin marriages were legal in all 50 states, and everywhere else in the world as far as I knew. I cautioned however that some religions may frown upon them, Roman Catholicism being one. I have since learned that this was once the rule, but it has changed. The ban on 2nd cousins marrying each other has been lifted, and with special dispensation, even 1st cousins can wed. I thought it would be fun and informative to take an informal…and certainly not comprehensive or definitive…look at at the new rules and the traditional ones, seeing as RC is the largest single Christian denomination in the world today. This also piqued my curiosity given the fact that I’ve found 2nd cousins marriages…and even a 1st cousin marriage…among my French Canadian ancestors, good solid Catholics all of them, I’d been led to believe.

30.3  But I knew it would be a bit complicated, since the traditional Catholic method of determining how closely 2 individuals are related uses the word “degree” in a different way than the common one of 1st degree for 1st cousins, 2nd degree for 2nd cousins, etc. I thought I had my ducks in a row, but a little research revealed not one but 2 different ecclesiastical types of “degrees” have been in play over the past 2 millennia…one based on Roman civil law, and the other not, both different from what I just referred to as the “common” usage. And since our own principles of common law, which includes figuring consanguinity, are based on British common law, which itself has roots in Roman civil law, I realized even a cursory review of the matter would need some more digging to make it worthwhile…hence the postponement.

30.4  At the same time, I was intending to use the case of Rudy Giuliani and his marriage to his 2nd cousin as an example of dispensations in action, or lack thereof. I had always understood that he and his first wife Regina Peruggi were 2nd cousins, altho they had assumed they were 3rd cousins…hence their annulment, since they hadn’t received a dispensation. But when double-checking my basic facts, I found some websites said 2nd cousin once removed. And while trying to untangle that, I discovered that Rudy’s paternal grandfather married a woman whose last name was also Giuliani. That brought everything to a screeching halt. There’s obviously more to this than I realized, and I need to flesh out the details precisely, so that’s on hold too…probably enough there for an entire enlightening chapter of its own.

30.5  So today, instead of what I’d planned, I have a couple of coming attractions to preview…plus a couple of odds and ends that’ve been floating around to share with you.

30.6  Back in 16.2, discussing the British Royals, I mentioned that many of the European royal houses were insanely interwoven, the ultimate King of Interbeeding being Charles II of Spain, who died in 1700. In fact, altho his parents weren’t siblings, it’s said that his genetic make-up was even more homozygous (same genes passed from both sides) than if they had been bro & sis. I found this chart, which I haven’t labeled since it isn’t my own work, and I intend  at some point to tease out just how this all ties together.

30.7  One thing is immediately apparent if you study this tree…while there are no instances of a brother marrying his sister, there is the next best thing: a brother marrying his sister’s daughter, his niece. I’ve marked the tell-tale “L” shapes below…

30.8  …and as you can see, not only did Charles II’s father marry his niece, but both of his father’s parents were the offspring of uncle-niece pairings! There’s a whole lot more going on, and if you can sort it all out, you graduate with flying colors, because the experts say this is about as tangled up as it gets…short of the ancient Egyptian Ptolemy dynasty, where siblings really did tie the knot…and Cleopatra was one of them, BTW.

30.9  But one thing Charles II’s pedigree doesn’t have, at least not the part of it shown here, is half-relations, that is, individuals having children with more than one partner. So we’ll be taking a look at King David of biblical fame…Chart 103 is my creation, altho not my research, so I’m trusting that it’s accurate. He had sons by at least 3 wives…”C” is apparently not named in the scriptures…and “D” and “M” are 2 different Maacah’s.  A union between half-1st cousins should jump right out at you, along with other assorted interconnections of, dare I say it, biblical proportions.

30.10  And now your odds and ends. One website had a bit of information relevant to my family, but it needed clarification, so I left a note on the guy’s guestbook. While there, I noticed someone else had made this startling claim: I am your wife’s 8th great aunt’s husband’s first cousin’s husband’s 6th great nephew. You think I wasn’t going to map that sucker out? Shame on you. Chart 104 is the result, and needless to say, this relation is by marriage only, and extremely tenuous, altho authentic enough for what it is. I cleaned up his terminology, but otherwise I think this is correct.

30.11  Finally…You Might Be a Baby Boomer If…you remember when comic strips made sense. I’m not saying they were all funny, but at least you understood what they were driving at. Today, not so much, for me anyway. Which is why I’m pleased as punch to recommend this one, Pickles…its about a retired couple, Earl and Opal Pickles…that’s her seated at the computer, with younger sister Pearl, who runs an emu ranch. See yez next week with…whatever…

30.12   Just so you know, a “cankle” is when you can’t tell where your calf ends and your ankle begins…bummer.

Copyright © 2011 Mark John Astolfi, All Rights Reserved

 shameless plugs, same time, same channel…

Podcasts at http://stolfpod.podbean.com  and   http://thewholething.podbean.com

Other Daily blog at http://stolf.wordpress.com  (the legendary Stolf’s Blog)

More bloggage at  http://travelingcyst.blogspot.com  and  http://www.examiner.com/retro-pop-culture-in-watertown/mark-john-astolfi

Resume at http://travelingcyst.blogspot.com/p/resume.html

Audio samples coming soon…or just check the podcasts…twc-rr so still giga-blows to infinity & beyond…


This entry was posted in \baby boomers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

